McMillan Hall

Academy BuildingAdministration Building, Washington and Jefferson Collegestone academy building
McMillan Hall is a building on the campus of Washington & Jefferson College in Washington, Pennsylvania, United States.wikipedia
33 Related Articles

Washington & Jefferson College

Washington and Jefferson CollegeJefferson CollegeWashington College
McMillan Hall is a building on the campus of Washington & Jefferson College in Washington, Pennsylvania, United States.
In 1792, the Academy secured four lots at Wheeling and Lincoln street from William Hoge and began construction on the stone Academy Building.

Washington, Pennsylvania

WashingtonWashington, PAPennsylvania
McMillan Hall is a building on the campus of Washington & Jefferson College in Washington, Pennsylvania, United States.
The David Bradford House and F. Julius LeMoyne House are listed on the National Register of Historic Places, along with the Administration Building, Washington and Jefferson College, Dr. Joseph Maurer House, Pennsylvania Railroad Freight Station, Washington Armory, Washington County Courthouse, and Washington County Jail.

List of presidents of Washington & Jefferson College

Presidentcollege presidentPresident of Washington & Jefferson College
During his tenure, President David McConaughy lived rent-free in the south wing. The funds for this remodeling project were donated by President James D. Moffat.
The Office of the President is located in McMillan Hall, which is the oldest building on campus, dating to 1793.

Washington County History & Landmarks Foundation

Washington County History and Landmarks Foundation
It is designated as a historic public landmark by the Washington County History & Landmarks Foundation.

John McMillan (missionary)

John McMillanHill Church
McMillan Hall is named after College founder and Presbyterian missionary John McMillan.

Old Main (Washington & Jefferson College)

Old MainNew College
In 1835, constructing began on a new building, called the "New College." With the increased enrollment after World War II, the building's dining hall was moved to the Chapel in Old Main and the bookstore was moved to Hays Hall, allowing the former bookstore location to become part of the faculty dining hall.
The new building was called "the New College," to distinguish it from the College's original building, McMillan Hall.

David Bradford (lawyer)

David BradfordGeneral David Bradford
In 1793, the Trustees of Washington Academy authorized three men, James Brice, Absolom Baird and David Bradford, to form a committee to build and superintend a new building built on property donated by William Hoge.
He was instrumental in building McMillan Hall at Washington College, which is one of the oldest surviving educational buildings in the nation and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

James D. Moffat

The funds for this remodeling project were donated by President James D. Moffat.
Moffat personally paid for the 1912 renovations of McMillan Hall.

Pennsylvania

PACommonwealth of PennsylvaniaPa.
McMillan Hall is a building on the campus of Washington & Jefferson College in Washington, Pennsylvania, United States.

United States

AmericanU.S.USA
McMillan Hall is a building on the campus of Washington & Jefferson College in Washington, Pennsylvania, United States.

Allegheny Mountains

AllegheniesAlleghany MountainsAllegheny
It is the eighth-oldest academic building in the United States that is still in use for its original academic purpose and is the oldest surviving college building west of the Allegheny Mountains.

National Register of Historic Places

National RegisterMultiple Property SubmissionNational Register of Historical Places
In 1977, it was listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

Georgian architecture

GeorgianGeorgian RevivalGeorgian style
The National Register described the building's architecture as achieving a "unique quality and charm from the fact that vernacular builders selectively borrowed Georgian, Roman Classical, Adamesque, and other European Renaissance architectural forms, elements, and details and combined them in the builder's own esoteric way."

Ancient Roman architecture

RomanRoman architecturearchitecture
The National Register described the building's architecture as achieving a "unique quality and charm from the fact that vernacular builders selectively borrowed Georgian, Roman Classical, Adamesque, and other European Renaissance architectural forms, elements, and details and combined them in the builder's own esoteric way."

Renaissance

the RenaissanceEarly RenaissanceEuropean Renaissance
The National Register described the building's architecture as achieving a "unique quality and charm from the fact that vernacular builders selectively borrowed Georgian, Roman Classical, Adamesque, and other European Renaissance architectural forms, elements, and details and combined them in the builder's own esoteric way."

Alexander Hamilton

HamiltonHamiltonianA. Hamilton
Alexander Hamilton and Henry Lee stayed in the hall during their visit during Whiskey Rebellion.

Henry Lee III

Henry LeeHenry "Light Horse Harry" LeeLight Horse Harry Lee
Alexander Hamilton and Henry Lee stayed in the hall during their visit during Whiskey Rebellion.

Whiskey Rebellion

Whiskey Insurrectionsupervisor of revenueWhisky Insurrection
Alexander Hamilton and Henry Lee stayed in the hall during their visit during Whiskey Rebellion.

Washington County Courthouse (Pennsylvania)

Washington County Courthousecourthousecurrent building
In 1791, a fire destroyed the original log Washington County Courthouse, leaving Washington Academy without anywhere to hold classes.

William Hoge (Pennsylvania politician)

William Hoge
In 1793, the Trustees of Washington Academy authorized three men, James Brice, Absolom Baird and David Bradford, to form a committee to build and superintend a new building built on property donated by William Hoge.

Lunch counter

lunch countersluncheonettecounters
The College bookstore opened in the basement in 1938 and was enlarged in 1939 to add a refreshment and lunch counter.

World War II

Second World WarwarWWII
With the increased enrollment after World War II, the building's dining hall was moved to the Chapel in Old Main and the bookstore was moved to Hays Hall, allowing the former bookstore location to become part of the faculty dining hall.

Hays Hall

With the increased enrollment after World War II, the building's dining hall was moved to the Chapel in Old Main and the bookstore was moved to Hays Hall, allowing the former bookstore location to become part of the faculty dining hall.